

November 5, 2012

The Honorable Toni Preckwinkle 118 N. Clark Street, Room 537 Chicago IL 60602

Dear President Preckwinkle:

Action Now would like to express our strong support for the land bank effort spearheaded by Commissioner Bridget Gainer and adopted by the full Board of Commissioners.

We not only hope that the Cook County Land Bank will establish the necessary means of transitioning vacant properties into occupied and revitalized properties, rebuilding our neighborhoods and tax base, we would also like to suggest certain values for the land bank to adopt.

## • "Requests for Proposal" Process

We believe that "one size does not fit all;" as such, we hope the Cook County Land Bank adopts a "Request for Proposal" model that treats each parcel or bundle of parcels as unique properties, allowing each parcel to be treated in a way that best meets the needs of its locality. Local developers could submit an RFP to dictate how each parcel would be utilized.

## • Creating Housing to Meet Local Needs

Through the process of Request for Proposal, we would like the Cook County Land Bank to create housing to meet local needs. We hope that properties in neighborhoods that lack economically accessible housing, or require further development of economically accessible housing, require stipulations that promote affordability.



## • Creating Local Jobs

Just as a Request for Proposal can treat each property differently, we hope that properties in neighborhoods that lack local jobs require stipulations that any rehabilitation or deconstruction work is done by local contractors.

We will continue to advocate for these values, and we will continue to pledge our full support to the Cook County Land Bank effort.

Sincerely,

Katelyn Johnson Executive Director Action Now

cc: **Commissioners** Earlene Collins, Robert Steele, Jerry Butler, William Beavers, Deborah Sims, Joan Patricia Murphy, Jesus Garcia, Edwin Reyes, Peter Silvestri, Bridget Gainer, John Daley, John Fritchey, Larry Suffredin, Gregg Goslin, Timohty Schneider, Jeffrey Tobolski, Elizabeth Doody Gorman; **Mayor** Rahm Emanuel; **Aldermen** Joe Moreno, Robert Fioretti, Pat Dowell, William Burns, Leslie Hairston, Roderick Sawyer, Sandi Jackson, Michelle Harris, Anthony Beale, John Pope, James Balcer, George Cardenas, Marty Quinn, Ed Burke, Toni Foulkes, JoAnn Thompson, Latasha Thomas, Lona Lane, Matthew O'Shea, Willie Cochran, Howard Brookins, Ricardo Munoz, Michael Zalewski, Michael Chandler, Daniel Solis, Roberto Moldonado, Walter Burnett, Jason Ervin, Deborah Graham, Ariel Roboyras, Ray Suarez, Scott Waguespack, Richard Mell, Carrie Austin, Rey Colon, Nicholas Sposato, Emma Mitts, Timothy Cullerton, Margaret Laurino, Patrick O'Connor, Mary O'Connor, Brendan Reilly, Michelle Smith, Thomas Tunney, John Arena, James Cappleman, Ameya Pawar, Harry Osterman, Joseph Moore, Deborah Silverstein;